Critical Thinking Series

Curated by: Denisa Tomková

The aim of the Critical Thinking Series is to expand on the concepts proposed by Kunsthalle Bratislava’s exhibition programming, by providing further critical discursive thinking in the form of essays and poems by international thinkers. The texts are translated into Slovak for the first time, making this knowledge and critical thinking accessible to readers who do not necessarily read in English. ‘In defence of translation. When a word or concept travels, its meaning and applicability begin to shapeshift. … In defence of the idea that concepts are not geographically bound, that they can and should float, bend and be utilised by organisers, art practitioners across the world.’ (In Defence of Translation, 2021) The texts are published bilingually: in the original English and also translated into Slovak for the first time. The wide accessibility and sustainability of the project is ensured by the fact that all of the publications are accessible free of charge on the Kunsthalle Bratislava website.

Translation: Denisa Tomková

Copyediting: Zuzana Andrejco Ferusová

Graphic Design: Lukáš Kollár

Project is Supported by: ERSTE Foundation

Online publication accompanying the exhibition SOMETHING IS BURNING
Elio Choquette, Angela Dimitrakaki, Luki Essender, Jack Halberstam, Lara Perry, Julius Pristauz
Online publication accompanying the exhibition After Work
Jay Bernard, Kathryn Bond Stockton, Jos Boys, Simone R. Caljouw, Jen Kratochvil, Rob Withagen
Online publication accompanying the exhibition Nhớ: Space Between One End and the Other
Alena Alamgir, Kimberly Nguyen, Kvet Nguyen, Minh Duc Pham, Minh Thang Pham, Christina Schwenkel, Vi Huyen Tranová
Online publication accompanying the exhibition Floor Is Lava
Gargi Bhattacharyya, Abou Farman, Denis Kozerawski, Jen Kratochvil, Sophie Lewis, Ruth Novaczek, P. Staff
Wandering Concepts / Putujúce Koncepty
Sara Ahmed, Laura Amann, Jay Bernard, Jos Boys, Judith Butler, Simone R. Caljouw, Elio Choquette, Emanuele Coccia, Angela Dimitrakaki, Luki Essender, Mikkel Krause Frantzen, Marina Garcés, Jack Halberstam, Aziza Harmel, Walidah Imarisha, Barbara Kapusta, Grant Kester, Dávid Koronczi, Jen Kratochvil. Sophie Lewis, Paul Maheke, José Esteban Muñoz, Lola Olufemi, Lara Perry, Julius Pristauz, Legacy Russell, Raoni Saleh, Joy Mariama Smith, Kathryn Bond Stockton, Rob Withagen
Nahor ↑